Home > COM530 > One Web Day – Top Nine Things that are totally RAD about the Internet

One Web Day – Top Nine Things that are totally RAD about the Internet

Hey, the Internet means ‘fun’ to me. That’s why I created this silly ‘Top Nine Things that are RAD about the Internet”. Of course, I do mean fun in a ‘ha ha’ sense but also fun because of the daily ‘WoW- factor’ from learning, seeing, exploring and experiencing new things. Yes, we do call it the New Media but what’s ‘new’ about it for me is that it has changed the way I experience everyday life. I’ve been around long enough to have been once dependent on manual typewriters and an encyclopedia on the bookshelf. I love the quick answers to questions…and then the new question that last answer inspired, and then. It’s the ‘and then’ part of the Internet that’s heaven for anyone who has even a touch of the explorer in them.

As my favorite poet, E E Cummings wrote: “there’s a hell of a universe next door, let’s go.”

Of course, everyone’s heard of the TOP TEN on nightly TV…mine are the TOP NINE. Why? I wanted Mr. Letterman to be jealous that he didn’t think of that. Seriously, My TOP NINE are a homage to the NINE lives of that cool cat, the Internet. In addition there’s the fact that ONE WEB DAY is in September, our NINTH month. So, not a bad digit to be connected to, eh?

I was also hoping in the spirit of the free Internet of ideas that we could crowd-source that TENTH cool thing about the Internet. Dear audience, you are the TENTH best thing about the Internet! Got any ideas in the spirit of TOP TEN style? Let’s go, bring ’em on. I’ll do updated videos using your suggestions.

O, and Happy Birthday, dear Internet.

Categories: COM530
  1. September 11, 2009 at 4:07 am

    Paul – you are the man! Great job. Creative, witty and fun…

  1. November 23, 2009 at 5:14 am

Leave a Reply

